Ethiopian Cheese Dip


I had my doubts about this recipe, but it turned out to be amazing! I apologize in advance for the lack of photos; I made it for the dinner party my parents had the other night, and I was a bit rushed in preparing and getting food out on the table. Its super simple, though, so I don’t think the photos should matter too much. I found this recipe here.  Note: this recipe tastes really strange when served immediately, but let it sit for several hours and it blends into something fantastic!

Ingredients:

1 lb fresh goat cheese

1/4 c plain yogurt (note: we used Greek-style yogurt and it was dry at first, so we added slightly more to moisten the cheese.)

3 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

1 tbsp chopped fresh basil or 1/2 tsp dried basil

1 tbsp chopped fresh oregano, or 1 tsp dried oregano

1-3 tsp grated lemon zest

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

1) Combine all ingredients in a bowl. The mixture should be dry enough to maintain its shape, but not so dry that it crumbles.

2) Cover and refrigerate for several hours. Remove from the fridge 30 minutes before serving. Serve with pita bread or Ethiopian pancake bread (Injera).

 

Leave a comment